World Steel Association elects new officers and welcomes new members

worldsteel_worldsteel-logo2São Paulo, 07 October 2013 – The Board of Directors of the World Steel Association (worldsteel) has elected the following new officers for 2013/2014:

Chairman:                    Joon-Yang Chung, Chairman and CEO, POSCO

Vice Chairmen:           Alexey Mordashov, CEO, Severstal JSC

                                       Wolfgang Eder, Chairman and CEO, voestalpine AG

Treasurer:                   Eiji Hayashida, President and CEO, JFE Steel Corporation

The new Chairman takes office from Wednesday 9th October, 2013. The new officers are elected for one year, until October 2014. The Board of Directors met on the first day of worldsteel’s 47th Annual Conference in São Paulo, Brazil.

On behalf of the Board of Directors, the Director General of the World Steel Association, Edwin Basson thanked Alexey Mordashov, Chairman for 2012/2013, for his leadership and active engagement over the past year. Edwin Basson said: “We welcome Joon-Yang Chung as the new Chairman, Alexey Mordashov and Wolfgang Eder as Vice Chairmen and Eiji Hayashida as Treasurer. We are also delighted to welcome our new members on board.”

“We would like to take this opportunity to thank John Surma, U. S. Steel Chairman who is retiring as Treasurer of worldsteel for his contribution to the global steel industry. He was the Chairman of the association in 2006/2007. He has served as member of worldsteel’s Executive Committee since 2004 and as Treasurer since 2009. John Surma has been a tireless and dedicated steel champion around the world. We wish him well for the future”.


The Board of Directors also elected the 2013/14 Executive Committee:

Joon-Yang Chung, POSCO

Wolfgang Eder, voestalpine AG

John Ferriola, Nucor Corporation

Eiji Hayashida, JFE Steel Corporation

Heinrich Hiesinger, ThyssenKrupp AG

Sajjan Jindal, JSW Steel Ltd

André Gerdau Johannpeter, Gerdau SA

Mario Longhi, United States Steel Corporation

Lakshmi Mittal, ArcelorMittal

Alexey Mordashov, Severstal JSC

Shoji Muneoka, Nippon Steel & Sumitomo Metal Corporation

Paolo Rocca, Techint Group

Lejiang Xu, Baosteel Group Corporation

Xiaogang Zhang, Anshan Iron & Steel Group Corporation

Edwin Basson, World Steel Association

The Board of Directors also welcomed the following companies as new members of worldsteel:

Regular members (steel companies producing more than 2 million short tons (1.8 Mt) per annum)

Emirates Steel Industries Company PJC, represented by Mr Saeed Al Romaithi

ILVA S.P.A., represented by Mr Federico Bondi

RIVA FORNI ELETTRICI S.P.A., represented by Mr Cesare Federico Riva

Associate Members (steel companies producing less than 2 million short tons (1.8 Mt) per annum)

Usha Martin Limited, represented by Prashant Jhawar

Walia Steel Industry plc, represented by Mr Sisay Tefaye Bekele

Visa Steel Limited, represented by Mr Vishal Agarwal

Affiliated members (steel related associations, federations, and research organisations)

American Institute of Steel Construction, represented by Mr John Cross

Azerbaijani Society of Metallurgists, represented by Mr Goshgar Ismayil


• The World Steel Association (worldsteel) is one of the largest and most dynamic industry associations in the world. worldsteel represents approximately 170 steel producers (including 17 of the world’s 20 largest steel companies), national and regional steel industry associations, and steel research institutes. worldsteel members represent around 85% of world steel production.