World Steel Association elects new officers and welcomes new members

New Delhi, 10 October 2012 – The Board of Directors of the World Steel Association (worldsteel) has elected the following new officers for 2012/2013:

Chairman: Alexey Mordashov, General Director, Severstal JSC

Vice Chairmen: Xiaogang Zhang, President, Anshan Iron & Steel Group Corporation

Joon-Yang Chung, Chairman and CEO, POSCO

Treasurer: John Surma, Chairman and CEO, United States Steel Corporation

The new Chairman takes office from Friday 12th October, 2012. The new officers are elected for one year, until October 2013. The Board of Directors met on the first day of worldsteel’s 46th Annual Conference in New Delhi, India.

On behalf of the Board of Directors, the Director General of the World Steel Association, Edwin Basson thanked Xiaogang Zhang, Chairman for 2011/2012, for his leadership and support over the past year. Edwin Basson said: “We welcome Alexey Mordashov as the new Chairman, Xiaogang Zhang and Joon-Yang Chung as Vice Chairmen and John Surma as Treasurer. We are also delighted to welcome our new members on board.”

“We are very pleased to see the continued growing membership from emerging countries and regional associations and institutions. Their participation in the activities of the global steel industry is particularly important at a time when economic and environmental challenges require the industry’s collective efforts.”

The Board of Directors also elected the 2012/13 Executive Committee:

Joon-Yang Chung, POSCO

Daniel DiMicco, Nucor Corporation

Wolfgang Eder, voestalpine AG

Eiji Hayashida, JFE Steel Corporation

Heinrich Hiesinger, ThyssenKrupp AG

Sajjan Jindal, JSW Steel Ltd

André Gerdau Johannpeter, Gerdau SA

Lakshmi Mittal, ArcelorMittal

Alexey Mordashov, Severstal JSC

Shoji Muneoka, Nippon Steel & Sumitomo Metal Corporation

Paolo Rocca, Techint Group

John Surma, United States Steel Corporation

Lejiang Xu, Baosteel Group

Xiaogang Zhang, Anshan Iron & Steel Group Corporation

Edwin Basson, World Steel Association

The Board of Directors also welcomed the following companies as new members of worldsteel:

Regular members (steel companies producing more than 2 million short tons (1.8 Mt) per annum)

Byelorussian Steel Works, represented by Mr Anatoly Savianok, General Director

Çolakoğlu Metalurji A.Ş., represented by Mr Uğur Dalbeler, CEO

SeAH Besteel Corporation, represented by Mr Woon-Hyung Lee, President

Associate Members (steel companies producing less than 2 million short tons per annum)

Shabro Metals & Technologies Ltd., represented by Mr Vijay Sharda, Chairman & Managing Director

Tung Ho Steel Enterprise Corporation, represented by Mr Henry C.T. Ho, President

Adhunik Metaliks Ltd., represented by Nirmal Kumar Agarwal, Director

Affiliated members (steel industry associations, federations, and steel research organisations)

All India Steel Re Rollers Association, represented by Mr Hemant Sharma, Vice-President

Institute for Steel Development & Growth, represented by Mr Sushim Banerjee, Director General

International Iron Metallics Association, represented by Mr Chris Barrington, Chief Advisor

• The World Steel Association (worldsteel) is one of the largest and most dynamic industry associations in the world. worldsteel represents approximately 170 steel producers (including 17 of the world’s 20 largest steel companies), national and regional steel industry associations, and steel research institutes. worldsteel members represent around 85% of world steel production.