World Economic Forum Announces New Board of Trustees

  • Jim Yong Kim and Marc R. Benioff join the World Economic Forum Board of Trustees
  • The Board of Trustees serves as the guardian of the World Economic Forum’s mission and values
  • For more information about the World Economic Forum, see 

world economic forumDavos-Klosters, Switzerland, 23 January 2016 – The Board of Trustees of the World Economic Forum yesterday elected Jim Yong Kim, President, The World Bank, Washington DC; and Marc R. Benioff, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Salesforce, USA, as its new members.

In accordance with the World Economic Forum’s status as the International Organization for Public-Private Cooperation, as recognized by the Swiss Federal Council in January 2015, the Forum updated its governing body from Foundation Board to Board of Trustees in August. The Board of Trustees is set up to support the Forum’s mandate to serve as a representative group of key global stakeholders.

Jim Yong Kim brings two decades of experience in international development to the Foundation Board. Under his presidency, the World Bank adopted in 2012 two goals: ending extreme poverty by 2030; and boosting shared prosperity for the bottom 40% of the population in developing countries. He also possesses vast experience in healthcare, having led the World Health Organization’s HIV/AIDS department between 2003 and 2005, during which time WHO introduced the “3 by 5” initiative, the first-ever global goal for AIDS treatment.

Marc R. Benioff is a 35-year veteran of the software industry. Having co-founded in February 1999, he has served as its chief executive officer since November 2001. Alongside his business career, he is well known for his philanthropic work, as well as for taking a crusading stand in favour of LGBT rights and other important issues.

“The Board of Trustees reflects the multistakeholder concept on which the World Economic Forum is built and which is fundamental to our role as the International Organization for Public-Private Cooperation. In playing an active role in setting the strategic framework for the Forum, the board acts as a guardian of our independence and impartiality,” said Klaus Schwab, Founder and Executive Chairman of the World Economic Forum.

As of 22 January 2016, the Members of the Board of Trustees of the World Economic Forum are:

Klaus SCHWAB*                                Chairman of the Board of Trustees
Patrick AEBISCHER                           President, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology of Lausanne, Switzerland
H.M. Queen Rania AL ABDULLAH    of the Hashemite Kingdom of Jordan
Mukesh AMBANI                                Chairman and Managing Director, Reliance Industries, India
Marc R. BENIOFF                              Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Salesforce, USA
Peter BRABECK-LETMATHE*           Chairman of the Board, Nestlé, Switzerland
Mark CARNEY                                    Chairman, Financial Stability Board; Governor of the Bank of England

Katherine GARRETT-COX, CBE*     Chief Executive Officer, Alliance Trust Plc, United Kingdom
Orit GADIESH**                                 Chairman, Bain & Company, USA

Al GORE                                             Vice-President of the United States (1993-2001); Chairman and Co-Founder, Generation Investment Management, USA

Herman GREF                                    Chairman of the Board and Chief Executive Officer, Sberbank, Russian Federation
Angel GURRÍA                                   Secretary-General, Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD), Paris
Susan HOCKFIELD                            President Emerita and Professor, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), USA
Jim Yong KIM                                      President, The World Bank, Washington DC
Klaus KLEINFELD**                            Chairman and Chief Executive, Alcoa Inc., USA
Christine LAGARDE                            Managing Director, International Monetary Fund, Washington DC
Jack MA                                               Executive Chairman, Alibaba Group, People’s Republic of China
Peter MAURER                                  President, International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC), Switzerland
Luis MORENO                                    President, Inter-American Development Bank, Washington DC
Indra NOOYI*                                     Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, PepsiCo, USA
Joe SCHOENDORF                           Venture Partner, Accel Partners, USA
Jim Hagemann SNABE                       Member of the Board, SAP AG, Siemens AG, Allianz SE, Germany
Heizo TAKENAKA**                            Director, Global Security Research Institute, Keio University, Japan; Minister of State for Economic and Fiscal Policy of Japan (2002-2006)
George YEO                                        Chancellor, Nalanda University; Minister of Foreign Affairs of Singapore (2004-2011)
Min ZHU                                              Deputy Managing Director, International Monetary Fund, Washington DC

*Member of the Governance Board
**Member of the Audit & Risk Committee