New Delhi, 2nd April 2018: Ms. Debjani Ghosh, former MD, Intel South Asia, takes office as NASSCOM President, succeeding Mr. R Chandrashekhar, President, NASSCOM upon the completion of his term.

Ms. Ghosh takes office at a time when the Indian IT-BPM industry, currently a USD 167 billion sector, serves as a catalyst for the growth of the nation. With the intersection of digital technologies across every business, she aims to continue NASSCOM’s mission of fostering the digital transformation of the industry and country, embracing new technologies, expanding to newer geographies, and working with governments globally to build stronger trade relationships.

A staunch champion of technology for social good, she has been instrumental in driving initiatives in various roles across her career. She has worked with the government and as a part of the industry to establish policies and accelerate technology adoption in India, especially as an enabler of inclusive growth and development. She has also been a member of NASSCOM’s Executive Council and a trustee of NASSCOM Foundation.

Taking office, Ms. Debjani Ghosh, President, NASSCOM, said, “The technology industry in India has played a phenomenal role in building the India of tomorrow. We are amidst exponential shifts that require exponential change – across businesses, skilling, building innovative solutions with disruptive technologies, connecting the ecosystem of start-ups with that of enterprises, and leveraging technology for social impact. I am honoured to have been given this opportunity at this inflection point for the industry and the country. I look forward to partnering with all stakeholders for more milestones for the industry, which reigns as a frontrunner in today’s era of digital globalization.”

Ms. Ghosh has also been a big propagator of gender diversity and equal representation in corporate India, as the first woman to lead Intel India, MAIT (Manufacturers’ Association for Information Technology), and now NASSCOM. She was instrumental in developing Intel India’s ‘Digital Nation’ strategy to support India’s digital transformation, focusing her efforts on digital literacy, technology innovation, and building strong partnerships across India’s technology ecosystem.

Sharing his thoughts, Mr. Raman Roy, Chairman, NASSCOM, said, “Over the past few years, the technology industry has witnessed huge disruption across and is currently at the threshold of the next growth curve.  Debjani brings invaluable knowledge and experience to the table, and under her leadership I am confident that the industry will scale to greater heights of success.”

In March 2017, the NASSCOM President Succession Committee (NPSC) was constituted by the NASSCOM Chairman. The committee was chaired by Mr. N Chandrasekaran, Chairman, Tata Sons. The additional members of the committee were Ms. Neelam Dhawan, Managing Director, HP Enterprise, Mr. Rajendra Pawar, Chairman, NIIT, Mr. Rajan Anandan, Managing Director, Google India, Mr. Rishad Premji, Chief Strategy Officer, Wipro and Mr. Harish Mehta, Cofounder, NASSCOM and CMD, Onward Technologies (Convener).



NASSCOM® is the premier trade body and the chamber of commerce of the Technology and services industry in India. NASSCOM is a global trade body with more than 2500 members, which include both Indian and multinational companies that have a presence in India. NASSCOM’s member companies are broadly in the business of IT services, Software Products, BPM, Internet and Ecommerce, Engineering services and Start-ups. NASSCOM’s membership base constitutes over 95% of the industry revenues in India and employs over 4 million professionals.