Bombay Management Association confers ‘Best Management Institute of the Year’ award upon WeSchool once again

weschoolWeSchool receives the honour at the hands of the doyen of Indian industry, Shri Ratan Tata, for its contribution to management education at the 36th BMA Awards for Excellence ceremony


Mumbai, February 17, 2015: Bombay Management Association conferred Prin. L. N. Welingkar Institute of Management Development (WeSchool) with the ‘Best Management Institute of the Year 2015, at its recent Annual Awards Ceremony. Incepted in the year 1954, Bombay Management Association (BMA) is India’s top, not-for-profit Management Association that aims at providing various services to improve the standard of business management in India. At a truly glittering ceremonyheld at the Y.B. Chavan Centre in Mumbai, one saw the stalwarts from India’s corporate arena getting honoured for their meritorious contribution to the global business environment. While the legendary Shri Ratan Tata, Chairman, TATA Trusts was honoured by the panel of Jury with the ‘BMA Diamond Jubilee Lifetime Achievement Award’, Shri Yogesh Chander Deveshwar, Chairman, ITC, another leading corporate figure received the ‘Management Man of the Year’. Smt Arundhati Bhattacharya, Chairperson, SBI, bagged the ‘Management Woman Achiever’, Shri. Uday Kotak, Executive Vice Chairman &MD, Kotak Mahindra Group received ‘Entrepreneur of the Decade’ and the young duo Shri Kunal Bahl and Rohit Bansal, Co-founders of Snapdeal, took home ‘Entrepreneur of the year’ award.


Among India’s top business schools, WeSchool is a pioneering management education institution in India which emphasises on design-led innovative management education for shaping vision and mission of global citizen leadership. With astrong belief in integrating the philosophy of ‘leadership’ and ‘innovation’, and   nurturing  students with a holistic view on the socio-economic-political matters with a coherent and tactical approach towards problem solving, WeSchool has consistently worked towards delivering quality on par with the outside world, and BMA has once again recognized this contribution by bestowing the well deserved honour upon WeSchool. WeSchool is previously honoured with the BMA Outstanding Management Institute of the Year Award in 2010 and 2013.


While welcoming the august gathering, Shri Niteen Bhagwat, President, BMA said, “BMA cherishes its partnership with B Schools as it is through them we are able to establish good management practices and ethics. A lot has changed over the years but BMA is committed to bring back good management practices and we are really happy to present this award to WeSchool for their initiatives and projects that have empowered many students to realise their corporate as well as entrepreneurial dreams. We wish them all success and offer our continued support in their future endeavours.”


The event began with a panel discussion on, ‘India 2025 – Problems and solutions’ that brought to the table the collective wisdom of thought leaders like Smt Arundhati Bhattacharya, Shri Y Deveshwar, Uday Kotak, Shri Sunil Kaushal, Regional CEO, Standard Chartered Bank, with Shri R Ramakrishan, Vice Chairman and Joint MD, Polycab steering the debate in the right direction.


The star of the evening was clearly the legendary Ratan Tata, a recepient of the  BMA Diamond jubilee Lifetime Achievement Award himself, was a picture of grace and dignity as he deftly took over the mantle of felicitating the other awardees in the absence of CM Devendra Fadanavis. While applauding the efforts made by the BMA to recognize the immense contribution made by each awardees  not only in building businesses but also by investing in the future by aligning corporate objectives with social values, he had words of advice to give to the young MBAs gathered there who hung on to every word of his in rapt attention. “This is new India, where your demographic group is not just a workforce but an intellectual asset. You need adrenalin in your system to go out and run a business. But as you become successful and grow, encourage the young enthusiasts to build India of tomorrow and the day after. All of you will make India the powerhouse that it desires to become.” Needless to mention that he got a thunderous ovation at the end of his address.


While accepting the award, Prof Dr Uday Salunkhe, Group Director, WeSchool said, “To meet the demand of futuristic glocal leaders who will lead India, WeSchool has always strived at creating an ecosystem for convergence of design thinking, technology and empathy, supported by our world class faculty, result oriented teaching techniques and experiential learning. Our aim is to mentor citizen leaders that are driven to work with passion and empathy and are instrumental in creating a win-win situation for all stakeholders in spite of a turbulent socio-economic environment. Let us join hands and take charge of the future “.


About WeSchool

Established in 1977, Prin. L. N. Welingkar Institute of Management Development & Research (WeSchool) features among the premier Business Schools in India. Run by charitable Trust S.P. Mandali, WeSchool is ranked 15th out of 150 institutes in India as per the Annual Times B-School 2014 survey.

Keeping design and innovation its core, WeSchool endeavours to provide newer avenues to students towards achieving excellence in all sphere of life. WeSchool has introduced several pioneering management programs in Business Design & Innovation, E-Business, Retail, Healthcare and Rural Management and come up with new pedagogical approaches to enhance student learning. The scope of curriculum has expanded to incorporate sciences and subjects such as anthropology, sociology as well as tools such as ethnographic research with a strong focus on participant-centered and experiential learning. WeSchool has partnered/associated with national and international design and innovation institution of repute to ideate and formulate path-breaking ideas in the field of technology, education, healthcare, renewable energy, etc. In the past, WeSchool has associated with Center for Creative Leadership, MIT Media Lab, Harvard Business School, Stanford University, IDEO, etc.