Ajay S ShriramMr. Ajay S. Shriram, Chairman and Sr. Managing Director of DCM Shriram Limited and Chairman of its subsidiary company, Shriram Bioseed Ventures Ltd. has been elected as the President of CII for the year 2014-15.  He succeeds Mr S Gopalakrishnan as the new President.

DCM Shriram and the group has a turnover of approx. Rs.5700 Crores. The business portfolio of the Group comprises of Agri Businesses, Chloro Vinyl Businesses and Value added Businesses.

Mr. Shriram obtained a Bachelors degree in Commerce from Sydenham College, Bombay. He attended various training & management development programs in India & overseas and participated in the “Programme for Management Development” (PMD) at the Harvard Business School, Boston, USA.

Mr. Shriram is actively involved in various industry associations and educational bodies. He is the Chairman of the Governing Body of Shri Ram College of Commerce (SRCC) and a Trustee of SOS Children Villages of India.

Sumit MazumderMr Sumit Mazumder, Vice Chairman & Managing Director of TIL Ltd., is President Designate of CII for the year 2014-15.

TIL is the manufacturer of India’s largest range of material handling equipment in technical collaboration with world leaders – Manitowoc Crane Group, USA; Hyster (a part of NACCO Materials Handling Group, USA); Astec Industries, USA; Paceco Corp, USA (a part of Mitsui Engineering and Shipbuilding, Japan) and Mitsui Miike Machinery Co, Japan (a part of Mitsui Group).

Mr Mazumder is also the Executive Chairman of TIPL (Tractors India Pvt. Ltd.).  The Company is a distributor for Caterpillar, USA, in India, Nepal and Bhutan for earthmoving, construction, mining equipment and power systems.

A  graduate  of  St. Xavier’s  College,  Calcutta, Mr Mazumder obtained  a  Master’s  in  Business  Administration  from  Sam Houston State University,   Texas,  USA. He  also  undertook  the  Advanced  Management  Program  at  Harvard  University,  Massachusetts,  USA.

He has been a Member of the various Committees and Councils of the CII National Council.

Mr. Mazumder has served as a Trustee of Kolkata Port Trust (KoPT) and is a Director on the Board of West Bengal Industrial Development Corporation (WBIDC). 

Naushad ForbesDr Naushad Forbes, Director, Forbes Marshall, has been elected as the Vice President of CII for the year 2014-15.

Dr Forbes is the Director of Forbes Marshall, India’s leading Steam Engineering and Control Instrumentation firm. He chairs the Steam Engineering Companies within the group.

He has been a Lecturer and Consulting Professor at Stanford University in the Program in Science, Technology and Society from 1987 to 2004. He developed courses in Technology and Policy as well the Management of Technology in Firms in Newly Industrialized Countries.  He has written widely on innovation in developing countries and higher education in India, including a book, ‘From Followers to Leaders’, co-authored with David Wield. He has received his Bachelors, Masters and PhD Degrees from Stanford University.  

Dr Forbes is on the Advisory Council of IIT Bombay; Board of Directors of Godrej Industries, Kirloskar Oil Engines and Jump Associates, California; Governing Council of National Institute of Design and India Design Council; Trustee of  Ruby Hall Clinic.

He has held several positions in the Confederation of Indian Industry (CII).  He has been the Chairman ofthe CII National Committee on Higher Education, Past Chairman of the National Innovation Council 2012-13 & 2011-12.  He is the Past Chairman of the CII Western Region (2009-10); Past Chairman of the CII Maharashtra State Council and CII Pune Zonal Council.