10th Annual Meeting of the New Champions in China to Tackle Fourth Industrial Revolution


world economic forum

  • Over 1,700 participants from 90 countries will take part in the 10th Annual Meeting of the New Champions
  • Meeting is the world’s foremost global gathering on science, technology and innovation
  • Under the theme, The Fourth Industrial Revolution and Its Transformational Impact, the meeting will explore the economic, societal, cultural and ecological impact of the latest shift in human history
  • For more information, http://wef.ch/amnc16

Beijing, People’s Republic of China, 16 June 2016 – Over 1,700 prominent Chinese and international public and private sector leaders from 90 countries will convene at the 10th Annual Meeting of the New Champions, which will take place in Tianjin from 26 to 28 June. The theme of the meeting is, The Fourth Industrial Revolution and Its Transformational Impact.

Established in 2007, the Annual Meeting of the New Champions has established itself as the foremost global gathering on science, technology and innovation. As such, it acts as a platform for leaders from across government, business, academia, civil society and the arts to deepen their understanding of the Fourth Industrial Revolution and advance solutions that deliver positive, transformational change.

“Our future depends on our being able to understand and positively shape the Fourth Industrial Revolution so that it serves all humankind. This means understanding the opportunities that come with new technological breakthroughs but also re-thinking our rules and values to ensure the decisions we take benefit the global good. The new champions that will gather in Tianjin are the innovators, entrepreneurs and principled leaders that will help us navigate this profound shift in human history,” said David Aikman, Chief Representative Officer, Greater China, Managing Director, World Economic Forum.

The 2016 programme focuses on the major transformations influenced by the Fourth Industrial Revolution that are expected to shape economies, industries and the future. These are reflected in three distinct programme dimensions that will shape more than 200 sessions over the three-day meeting:

  • Redesigning Systems – How will the Fourth Industrial Revolution transform industry sectors and systems of production?
  • Reshaping Growth – How will China’s new Five-Year Plan for socio-economic development and the next generation of emerging market entrepreneurs drive global and regional growth?
  • Rethinking Innovation – How can breakthroughs and innovations in basic research, technology and business models shape social and economic systems?

“With a refreshing perspective and innovative thinking, Tianjin will do its best to take this year’s Annual Meeting of the New Champions to another level. We expect this meeting to be another success, especially a great opportunity for Tianjin to represent China as an innovative economy in transformation. With the new 13th Five-Year Plan, Tianjin, along with the rest of China, is on its way to a new prosperity powered by innovation,” said Zhao Haishan, Vice Mayor of Tianjin, People’s Republic of China.

Liang Linchong, Deputy Director-General, National Development and Reform Commission (NDRC), People’s Republic of China, emphasized the point: “In China’s newly approved 13th Five-Year Plan, five key concepts on development are formed – innovation, coordination, green, opening up and sharing.” Major efforts are in place to boost innovation and to advance the supply-side structural reform, he added. “China’s endeavours correspond well to the theme of this year’s Annual Meeting of the New Champions, the Fourth Industrial Revolution and Its Transformational Impact. It is our hope that the discussions at the meeting will help shed light on how to ensure China’s quality economic growth as well as a healthy and sustainable global economic growth in the long term.”

The leading personalities who will act as the Co-Chairs of the meeting are: Navdeep Bains, Minister of Innovation, Science and Economic Development of Canada; Taavet Hinrikus, Chief Executive Officer, TransferWise, United Kingdom; Shirley Ann Jackson, President, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute (RPI), USA; Travis Kalanick, Chief Executive Officer and Co-Founder, Uber, USA; Lei Jun, Founder, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Xiaomi Inc., PRC; Matthew Prince, Chief Executive Officer, Cloudflare, USA; Feike Sijbesma, Chief Executive Officer and Chairman of the Managing Board, Royal DSM, Netherlands; and Wang Chuanfu, Chairman, BYD Company, PRC.

Discussing the issues will be several prominent Chinese leaders, including: Huang Xingguo, Acting Party Secretary and Mayor of Tianjin; Xu Shaoshi, Chairman, National Development and Reform Commission (NDRC); Wang Yi, Minister of Foreign Affairs of PRC; Wan Gang, Minister of Science and Technology of PRC; Xiao Yaqing, Chairman of State-owned Assets Supervision and Administration Commission (SASAC), PRC; and Jin Liqun, President of Asian Infrastructure Investment Bank (AIIB).

Leading business figures from China include: Gao Jifan, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Trina Solar; Li Dongsheng, Chairman, TCL; Li Huaizhen, President, China Minsheng Investment Corp Ltd; Liu Jiren, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Neusoft Corporation; Qiao Baoping, Chairman, China Guodian Corporation; Shi Wenchao, President, China Union Pay; Wang Wei, Chairman, Zhongzhi Enterprise Group; Wang Yilin, Chairman, CNPC (China National Petroleum Corporation); Ya-Qin Zhang, President, Baidu Inc.; Zhang Yichen, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, CITIC Capital Holdings Ltd; Zhang Fangyou, Chairman, Guangzhou Automobile Industry Group Co. Ltd; Zhang Ruimin, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Haier; Gregory D. Gibb, Co-Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Lufax; James Liang, Chairman, Ctrip.com; Yao Jinbo, Chief Executive Officer, 58.com; Cui Weixing, Chairman, Deppon Logistics; Wang Jun, Founder and Chairman, iCarbonx.

They will be joined by international public figures, including: Sooronbay Jeenbekov, Prime Minister of the Kyrgyz Republic; Yury Trutney, Deputy Prime Minister of the Russian Federation; Navdeep Bains, Minister of Innovation, Science and Economic Development of Canada; Pierre Gramegna, Minister of Finance of Luxembourg; Eklil Hakimi, Minister of Finance of Afghanistan; Jan Mládek, Minister of Industry and Trade of the Czech Republic; and Malik Samarawickrama, Minister of Development Strategies and International Trade of Sri Lanka. From international organizations: Violet Bulc, Commissioner, Transport, European Commission; Noboru Nakatani, Executive Director, Interpol Global Complex Innovation (IGCI), INTERPOL; Tatiana Valovaya, Minister for Integration and Macroeconomics, Eurasian Economic Commission. Also participating will be Lee Sedol, Grand Master (AlphaGo), Korea Baduk Association; and Jeremy Lin, NBA Basketballer.

Participants also include Members of the Forum communities, including Social Entrepreneurs, Global Shapers, Young Global Leaders and Technology Pioneers (new class to be announced on 27 June). Young Scientists, representatives from arts & culture, academia and the media will also participate.