National Conference on e-Governance at Jaipur

  imagesThe Department of Administrative Reforms and Public Grievances, Government of India, in association with the Department of Electronics & Information Technology, Government of India and the Department of Information Technology & Communication, Government of Rajasthan, is organizing 16th National Conference on e-Governance on 11-12 February, 2013 in Jaipur. Senior Officers from the Government, industry, academicians, technical experts and NGOs will participate in the Event.

                    Chief Minister of Rajasthan, Shri Ashok Gehlot will inaugurate the Conference on 11th February, 2013. Other dignitaries who will be present on the occasion include, Minister of State in the Prime Minister Office and Personnel, Shri V. Narayanasamy; Minister of State in the Ministry of Communication and IT, Dr.(Smt.) Kruparani Killi, Secretary, Department of Administrative Reforms and Public Grievances, Government of India, Shri Sanjay Kothari and Chief Secretary, Rajasthan Shri C.K. Mathew.

                   During the Conference, the National Awards on e-Governance for the year 2012-13 will be presented. These awards are given in seven different categories concerning various aspects of e-Governance. The Awards distinguish some of the best Government to Government (G2G), Government of Citizen (G2C), Government to Business (G2B) initiatives by various government departments and public sector units. The Conference along with the Exhibition is a forum to showcase best practices, innovative technologies and ICT solutions.

                The objective of these awards is to recognize and promote excellence in implementation of e-Governance initiatives. These awards recognize achievements in the area of e-Governance; disseminate knowledge on effective methods of designing and implementing sustainable e-Governance initiatives; encourage horizontal transfer of successful e-Governance solutions; promote and exchange experiences in solving problems, mitigating risks, resolving issues and planning for success.

              The Conference will be based on the theme, “Towards an Open Government” with the sub themes, (i) Leveraging Social Inclusion; (ii) E-Governance Infrastructure- status and Challenges; and (iii) Social sector Programs. The Conference will explore how use of ICT has transformed governance from the perspective of the beneficiaries of the services. It is an attempt at a reality check to ascertain the outcome of the services rendered and whether it has achieved the intended objectives of transparent, effective, responsive and accountable system of governance.


A list of initiatives to be awarded this year in various categories is given below. State-wise awards are as follows: Assam-01, Karnataka-01, Gujrat-04, Jharkhand-01, Andhra Pradesh -02, Odisha- 02, Rajasthan-01, Madhya Predesh-02., Jammu & Kashmir -01, Bihar-01, and Govt. of India 01.

The list of initiatives being awarded this year in various categories is as follows:

Category 1 –  Excellence in Government Process Re-engineering

GOLD ” Computerisation of Registration (Panjeeyan) Project in Assam”, Revenue and Disaster Management Department, Government of Assam
SILVER Transformation of Mineral and Administration through e-Governance (Geology and Mining)”, Department of Mines and Geology, Government of Karnataka
BRONZE Online Voting System (OVS)”, State Election Commission, Gujarat

Category 2 –  Exemplary Re-Use of ICT Based Solutions

GOLD XLN–Xtended Licensing & Laboratory Node of SALES”, Food & Drugs Control Administration, Gujarat
SILVER Electronic Benefit Transfer through BC Model at PragyaKendras”, Jharkhand Agency for Promotion of IT, Department of IT, Government of Jharkhand
BRONZE IT enabled services in Gurukulam institutions”, APTWREIS (Gurukulam), Tribal Welfare Department, Government of Andhra Pradesh

Category 3 – Outstanding performance in Citizen-Centric Service Delivery

GOLD Students Academic Management System (SAMS)”, Department of Higher Education, Government of Odisha
SILVER Mail Network Optimization Project”, Department of Posts, Government of India
BRONZE Use of ICT for Delivering Mechanized Agricultural Implements”  & “Effective Monitoring of Input Delivery System through ICT”, Directorate of Agriculture & Food Production, Government of Odisha

Category 4 –  Innovative use of Technology in e-Governance

GOLD iBHUGOAL”,  Information Technology Department, Government of Bihar  and National Informatics Centre, Bihar
SILVER Measuring Physical Accessibility to Healthcare Network and Population Coverage Modeling in J&K State using Geo-informatics”, Directorate of Environment & Remote Sensing, Government of J&K
BRONZE MAGIC: Mineral Administration and Governance Using ICT”,Commissionerate of Geology and Mining, Government of Gujarat

Category 5 –  Innovative use of ICT by PSUs for Customer’s Benefits

GOLD Integrated System for Online Generation of Electrical Specifications for Transformers”, Informatics Center (IFX), Bharat Heavy Electricals Limited (BHEL), Bhopal
SILVER EPIMRS”, IT Wing, Eastern Power Distribution Company of A.P. Limited.
BRONZE iMINE (IT Intervention for Managing Integrated NetworkedEnterprise)”, Information Technology Department, Gujarat Mineral Development Corporation Limited (GMDC)

Category 6 –  Best Government Portal

GOLD RPSC e-Governance”, Rajasthan Public Service Commission,Ajmer

Category 7 – Specific Sectoral Award – Focus Sector – Social Sector Programmes


SPARSH – Special Project for Assistance, Rehabilitation & Strengthening of Handicapped – A healing touch for disabled, old age and destitute”, Directorate Social Justice, Government of Madhya Pradesh and National Informatics Center, Madhya Pradesh